#DigiWriMo Day 03

On Routines

Today’s writing exercise is looking into routines. There is all this advice out there on how routines help with productivity, and creativity, and the general development of expertise. Now my approach to routine looks something like:

sketch-1446573415782 sketch-1446573546148 sketch-1446573631500

So part of my reason for participating in #DigiWriMo is that the daily task forces some kind of routine. Maybe, it will have a knock-on effect? How are you dealing with routine? Do you find them useful? Did you throw them out the window? What strategies work for you?

10 thoughts on “#DigiWriMo Day 03

  1. Love the visuals (digital literacy in action!) and keep thinking that if we worry too much about goals, we lose the joy of the adventure. Have fun, most of all.
    Kevin

  2. Hm, for me, routines are extremely important. They frame the hours of my days, if you will. I like getting up early, for example, and starting to work pretty much straight away. When I need to finish a manuscript, that kind of regular work, even if it’s just for two hours, is the only thing that stands between me and insanity. Because then I can relax because I know that I can rely on my routine. So in that sense I find routines helpful. The same goes for my more creative work like drawing or painting; routines are importantthere too. They help me stay on track and actually allow me to make time for painting – because it’s part of my schedule to do that thing that makes me happy. But Kevin is also right in saying that routines shackle us to goals. So I try to be mindful of that which means I try not to be too religious about the ‘rules’. If I take them too serious I’ll rebel against my own routines very soon. The cycle you describe there, Naddy, definitely exists and kicks in right then πŸ™‚ I would think in that moment when you think ‘why did I want to do this again’, rethink the plan you made. Was it the right plan? Maybe it wasn’t. Or maybe you need to give yourself a little push because, on reflection, you realise it was and you just don’t feel like going through with it.

  3. I love this .. it’s exactly what happens to me. πŸ™‚ I’ve just picked up a couple of techniques but they too need work until they become routine πŸ™‚ .. ow too late .gotta go get some sleep or I’ll forget again ;P
    I hope tomorrow will come back sometime in the afternoon and say more..

  4. ok I am late, but I am back as promised.

    A couple of months ago I enrolled in a coursera course called Learning How to Learn. They teach about the brain and the latest findings from the neuroscience and psychology fields related to learning, memory, focus etc. I found the information useful not only for learning but for working on many other things. The challenge is that the techniques require a bit of self control and perseverance until they become useful habits. So,
    1- one of the techniques is called the Pomodoro technique (named after the kitchen timer that looks like a tomato) where you set the timer for 25 minutes and completely focus on the task/learning at hand. After the 25 minutes you take a beak and reward yourself by doing whatever you want for 5 minutes or so, then you start another round of Pomodoro. The completely focus bit is very challenging to me, it reminds me of learning to meditate. The trick is to keep at it. I looked for an app that can help me and found this http://visitsteve.com/made/selfcontrol/ . I will try it for the first time later today.

    2- Focus on the process not the product: so if I have a big thing to do/learn/create I should use the Pomodoro to focus on the process of reading, writing, listening, drawing whatever it is that I need to be doing in order to get something done; instead of focusing on how much more there is until I have a complete product. This lessens the pain (the stress, fear etc.) and therefore the chances of procrastination that can be triggered when I think about how big is the product that I want to achieve.

    (I think I should have put this as a blog post πŸ˜› )

    So there you go :).

    I hope it’s useful

    • Thank you for your thoughtful reply. I know pomodoro and other strategies the problem for me is one step before this. I forget that I meant to try a routine to begin with, as I get busy/side-tracked with doing stuff. So I tried scheduling routines in my calendar but as they are ‘volunteery’ I then just ignore it…So I set up a writing group in my workplace, and we meet regularly to work on our publications respectively PhD dissertations, so the peer pressure works πŸ˜€

  5. lol I actually did it in my reply. By the time I came back I’d forgotten the main point. Oh well. Are you familiar with Myers Briggs personality type indicator? I am an ENFP with a very clear P..and your cartoon story is an excellent description of one of the characteristics of a P preference. I am hoping that software will help

    • Haha thank you for your answers sorry been a bit slow replying. Yes, the test is funny. When I am in the middle of running a project I am INTJ but when I can kick back and just be I am INFJ… Did the test at several points during the last years and always made me laugh.

  6. Pingback: Bullet Journaling | Adventures in Academia

Leave a Reply

