My ‘Brain Pickings’ Favourite @brainpicker

I follow a myriad of pages and groups online perpetually looking for ideas, incentives, challenges and anything and everything that could inform my work. One of my favourites is: http://www.brainpickings.org/

The ten rules for teachers and students easily translate into the context of higher education. The picture below is from the latest blog-post.

Sister Corita’s Rules

I believe point 8 is one of the most common problems students have, which manifests itself as something I call ‘over-thinking’. The students are sometimes so scared to do the wrong thing, that they stop their flow and intuition and try to analyze while creating. However, until reading this rule the mechanism of over-thinking was only intuitively known to me not actually obvious. I think I need to explore this issue further and definitely ponder more about the rules. Maria in her blog also suggest the actual publication. I know what is next on my reading list now!

Leave a Reply

