Theorizing from my Data

And this is where my tendency to grossly over-think became most apparent. It began, yet again, with a supervisory comment – a gentle reminder not to forget that my thesis ought to reflect theorizing out of my data else it would not be PhD standard. So instead of taking a breath, going to the library or inquiring what the heavens she meant by that I ran in overdrive, so I assumed, wrongly, that the comment means I ought to built A theory out of my data.

Thomson, P. & Walker, M. (eds.). (2010). The Routledge Doctoral Student’s Compantion. London: Routledge.

Winstanley, C. (2009). Writing a Dissertation for Dummies. Chichester: Wiley & Sons Ldt.

After weeks of pondering and drafting and beating myself up, I got the feeling that it is similar to the soft-skills learning process. Remember great expectations that amount to nothing more than the stuff you do anyway. Guess what?! My feeling was right – apparently theorizing out of your data, is simply data interpretation and relating your findings to a wider context.

I can tell you a discombobulated mind brought forth with great determination can really make you go around the bend and pretty much everyone else involved. Hubby after proof reading my analysis chapter ended up drawing a space dragon. Cross my heart I have not the slightest idea where he got THAT association from. One thing it is surely not, or better be not – theorizing from my data.

Leave a Reply

